Skip to content

When The Clouds

When The Clouds is the solo project of musician and producer Francesco Galano.
In 2009 he signed with the US label Drifting Falling for the publication of his debut EP entitled The Longed-For Season.
The EP was released in April 2011 and contains 6 tracks entirely composed, performed and produced by Francesco, in which the sound of acoustic instruments such as rhodes piano, guitar, bass, strings, mellotron, glockespiel and diamonica merges with intricate textures of concrete sounds, glitches and noises that become the rhythmic/percussive structure of the tracks.
The track The Dawn And The Embrace appears in volume XIV of the compilation of The Silent Ballet, an important US webzine specialising in instrumental, electronic, post-rock and experimental music.
Again for The Silent Ballet, with the track Flooding River, he participated in the compilation with fuoco d’occhi un nostalgico lupo alongside Port Royal, Giusepe Ielasi, French Teen Idol, Emanuele Errante and other important names on the Italian scene.

Live members:
Francesco Galano
Gianmario Galano
Giovanni Botta
Diego Manzo


port – royal

port-royal (intentionally written in lower case and with hyphen between “port” and “royal”) is an electronic and post-rock Italian band from Genoa. The band was formed in 2000 by Attilio Bruzzone (guitars and keyboards) and Ettore Di Roberto (Piano and keyboards). The two members were later joined by Michele Di Roberto (drums), Emilio Pozzolini (sampling) and Giulio Corona (bass guitar), the latter left the band in 2009. Their music is characterized by ambient sound and their sound recalls that of bands such as Mogwai and M83.


The Album Leaf

The Album Leaf is the solo project of Jimmy LaValle, a San Diego-based songwriter who began recording solo material one year after forming the post-rock band Tristeza. Inspired by a number of genres — classical, jazz, and post-rock among them — LaValle constructed his own songs in a similarly eclectic manner, utilizing everything from ambient noise to field recordings to radio transmissions. An Orchestrated Rise to Fall introduced the resulting sound in 1999. An EP (In an Off White Room) preceded the release of LaValle’s second full-length album, One Day I’ll Be on Time, which was released by Tiger Style in March 2001. The Album Leaf’s profile blossomed as a result of those recordings, and LaValle found himself opening shows for Sigur Rós’ first American tour that fall. By the time he began recording his third album, he’d also secured the services of Sigur Rós’ Iceland studios, along with the participation of several of that band’s members. The resulting album, In a Safe Place, appeared on the Sub Pop label in June 2004.

The Seal Beach EP, originally issued in 2003 in Spain, appeared stateside in early 2005, and LaValle’s next album, Into the Blue Again, followed in September 2006. The Album Leaf toured sporadically throughout the remainder of the decade, performing in multiple continents and opening for Devendra Banhart at the Hollywood Bowl in 2008. Two years later, LaValle returned with his fifth full-length album, A Chorus of Storytellers.


Jon Hopkins

Jon Hopkins (London) is a British musician and song writer. He started playing the piano at the age of 5 and when he turned 12 he joined the Royal College of Music in London. He made his record debut in 2001 with the album Opalescent, then he published Contact Note in 2004 and The Fourth State in 2008 (which includes a 32 minute long track of ambient music). His latest album, Insides, was published by Domino Records in 2009.
Hopkins hs worked with lots of artists like Coldplay, Imogen Heap, King Creosote, Massive Attack, Chris Coco and Brian Eno. He has recently worked on remixes for FrouFrou, Clarksville and Keane ( using Mr Roque as his pseudonym)
The song Light Through the Veins was used in 2008 as introduction to first track of Life In Technicolor in the album Viva la Vida or Death and All His Friends by Coldplay. Jon Hopkins ha s also co-produced the album, working on the sounds and especially all the parts involving keyboards.
In 2010 he was hired by Vertigo Films for the sound score of the low budget science fiction flick Monsters by Gareth Edwards.


John Grant

John Grant began his career as frontman of the Czars, a Colorado-based band whose music split the difference between shoegaze, dream pop, and alternative country. Fueled by Grant’s songwriting and rich baritone vocals, the band released a pair of independent albums in the ‘90s before signing with Bella Union, a British label run by two former members of the Cocteau Twins. The Czars established a small international audience during the new millennium, but albums like Before…But Longer and The Ugly People vs. the Beautiful People failed to attract a larger following, and the group ultimately broke up in 2004.

After the split, Grant moved to New York and began working as a sideman for bands like Midlake and the Flaming Lips. He also continued writing songs. In 2009, members of Midlake joined Grant in the recording studio, serving as his backup band during the creation of his first solo project. The resulting album — a quirky, cynical record titled Queen of Denmark — was released by Bella Union in 2010.

Video Sound Art Festival
I edition
1, 2, 3 July 2011

Visconti Castle stables, yard, south – east facade

With the contribution of:
Fondazione Cariplo

With the patronage of:
Provincia di Milano
Comune di Abbiategrasso